A charge of aggravated battery might leave you with a limited period of time in which to defend your rights. The sooner you enlist a qualified Orlando criminal defense attorney, the more quickly we can apply our team’s combined talents to intervene with the prosecuting attorney and help you fight a conviction.
Aggravated battery is a second degree felony in the state of Florida. Simple battery is a misdemeanor, but several factors can combine to put you at risk for a more serious felony charge. If you had a deadly weapon in your possession at the time you made violent contact with another individual, this enhances your potential conviction into a felony. You will face a felony charge for aggravated battery if the person you assaulted was pregnant; the prosecution must prove that you had knowledge of or should have realized the victim’s pregnancy. Lastly, if you hurt someone to intentionally cause disfigurement, disability or grievous injury, Florida will charge you with felony aggravated battery. Without a qualified and experienced criminal defense attorney on your side, you could risk as many as 15 years in prison. You could be fined up to $10,000.
No one commits any act without cause, and if you are accused of aggravated battery, the attorneys at Katz & Phillips want to know what led to the altercation. You may have been defending yourself, a loved one, or even a stranger who you thought was in imminent danger. You cannot be charged with aggravated battery if you acted to save yourself or someone else. The attorneys at Katz & Phillips can potentially have the charges against you reduced to a misdemeanor, or we might be able to successfully negotiate with the prosecution so you serve probation rather than jail time. Call us today so we can begin investigating the factors behind your arrest. We will devote our full resources to making a difference and potentially having the charges against you dropped. When you visit our offices to discuss your options, everything you tell us is confidential.