Loading the player...

First Steps for a DUI

When you are arrested for DUI, a legal process is set in motion. You need to understand what steps to take within that process and be prepared to quickly develop a strategic approach in responding to the charges brought against you. A Florida DUI lawyer at Katz & Phillips, P.A. can answer the following questions:

  • What happens after a DUI in Florida?
  • What are the first steps you need to take?
  • How can you prepare to fight charges or reduce penalties?

What Happens After a DUI in Florida?

After an arrest for DUI in Florida:

  • You will be arraigned on charges. You’ll be informed of the accusations against you, and have to enter a plea.
  • You will face an automatic suspension of your driver’s license if you do not take action. This suspension is imposed even before criminal conviction, and is separate from criminal penalties. It will go into effect automatically if you do not take action.

You need to know exactly what to do at arraignment and how to keep your driver’s license. The smartest thing for most DUI defendants is to exercise their right to an attorney. Call a lawyer as soon as you can after you are taken into custody so you won’t make your situation worse. After that, you can begin fighting for your license and your future.

What are the First Steps You Need to Take?

After a DUI:

  • Call a lawyer. Your attorney will guide you through the process of responding to charges.
  • Request a hearing before the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). You have 10 days to request the hearing or you are going to lose the chance to argue against losing your license.  Your license will be automatically suspended if you do not act within 10 days.
  • Decide how to plead. Even if you are going to plead guilty, get a lawyer to try to negotiate a plea deal with the prosecutor.

When you request a hearing with the DHSMV, your case will be reviewed by an agency worker at your first hearing.  A more formal proceeding will be scheduled, during which a decision will be made on whether or not  you should lose your license.

How Can You Prepare to Fight the Charges or Reduce Penalties

Preparing to fight charges or deal with a DHSMV hearing is complicated. You need to be ready with legal arguments for why you should keep your license, why you should not be convicted, or why the charges should be dropped.

Katz & Phillips, P.A. has extensive experience helping defendants fight for their license and to avoid conviction. We understand the DHSMV agency process as well as the criminal process and we are ready to advocate for you. Give us a call today to schedule a consultation and learn more.


Stay Connected

our facebook our googleplus our linked in our twiiter our youtube

Why Choose Us?

Katz & Phillips will exhaust every effort to get your charges reduced or dropped. We are fierce negotiators and courtroom-tested litigators who will tirelessly protect your rights. We are available 24 hours a day – don’t hesitate to schedule a free consultation now.

Our Locations

We are also proud to serve
the residents of Orange
, Seminole County
(including Altamonte Springs,
Longwood, and Sanford), Lake
(including residents of
Tavares), and OsceolaCounty
(including Kissimmee).