Call Today for a Free Consultation 321-332-6864 Call Us 24 hours / 7 days a week

Is DUI a felony or a misdemeanor in Florida?

DUI can be classified as either a felony or a misdemeanor. First and second offenses are misdemeanors unless there is property damage or personal injury.

A third offense that occurs within ten years of conviction of a second offense can be filed as a felony and lifetime fourth offense is a felony in Florida. Which means if somebody has three DUI’s when they’re in their 20’s and 30 years later – maybe they’ve stopped drinking that entire time – and 30 years later something happens, a traumatic event in their life, and they get arrested for DUI again, even though those priors were 30 years ago, that fourth offense is a felony and it is punishable by up to five years in prison.

Find Out How Our Criminal Defense Lawyers Can Help You Katz & Phillips, P.A. works to try to keep your record clear and keep you out of jail, or to minimize the possible penalties of serious charges you face. To learn more, call today and speak with an experienced member of our legal team