Call Today for a Free Consultation 321-332-6864 Call Us 24 hours / 7 days a week

What are the consequences you can face if you are convicted for a DUI in Florida?

If you’re convicted for a DUI in the State of Florida you’re looking at minimum mandatory sanctions. The court has no discretion but  to adjudicate you guilty, which will give you a criminal record for the rest of your life.

They will put you on probation for a minimum of 12 months. You’re fine will vary based on the nature of the DUI. It can range from a  $500.00 fine up to $1,000.00 for a first DUI offense. You will also be required to complete the Counter Attack School, the victim awareness panel, you’ll have to perform 50 hours of community service. The Department of Motor Vehicle will put an impoundment   on your vehicle for ten days.

The court also will suspend your driver’s license for 6 months up to 12 months, depending on whether it’s a refusal or if there’s a breath test.

Also with first-time DUI you could face jail time up to 6 months, but the jail is not required, whereas all the other sanctions are mandatory by statute.

Find Out How Our Criminal Defense Lawyers Can Help You Katz & Phillips, P.A. works to try to keep your record clear and keep you out of jail, or to minimize the possible penalties of serious charges you face. To learn more, call today and speak with an experienced member of our legal team