Call Today for a Free Consultation 321-332-6864 Call Us 24 hours / 7 days a week

What are the penalties for DUI repeat offenders in Florida?

If someone in the State of Florida is charged with a second or subsequent DUI the penalties increase. Just like with the first DUI you  have certain minimum mandatories.

If you receive a second DUI within a five-year period one of the enhanced penalties is ten days of mandatory jail. Also you’re looking at a five year driver’s license revocation.

On a third DUI within ten you’re upgraded to a felony. So you’re actually looking at a maximum exposure of five years in prison, five years of probation, but you have 90 days of mandatory jail. Also with a third DUI within the ten years you’re looking at a ten-year driver’s license revocation.

Any fourth DUI is automatically a felony charge and one could face up to five years in prison, five years of probation, but with the  fourth DUI – the worst-case scenario – you’re looking at a lifetime suspension of your driver’s license.

So that’s why it’s important to actually consult with an attorney who carries on a DUI practice and has experience in handling all of the DUI’s, whether it’s the first or a fifth.

Find Out How Our Criminal Defense Lawyers Can Help You Katz & Phillips, P.A. works to try to keep your record clear and keep you out of jail, or to minimize the possible penalties of serious charges you face. To learn more, call today and speak with an experienced member of our legal team