Call Today for a Free Consultation 321-332-6864 Call Us 24 hours / 7 days a week

What happens at a preliminary hearing in Florida?

If you’ve been arrested in the State of Florida and you have not posted bond you are entitled to go before a judge within 24 hours. It’s  called the initial appearance. At this initial appearance the judge will review the police report and see if there’s appropriate probable cause to keep you in jail on the charge.

Also the judge at the initial appearance will address issues of bond, if bond has not been set, or any restrictions on a bond release.

Find Out How Our Criminal Defense Lawyers Can Help You Katz & Phillips, P.A. works to try to keep your record clear and keep you out of jail, or to minimize the possible penalties of serious charges you face. To learn more, call today and speak with an experienced member of our legal team