The difference between a misdemeanor and a felony charge in Florida is depending on what court you’re in. All misdemeanors are handled in county court and they’re broken down into two subcategories; a first degree misdemeanor and a second degree misdemeanor.
A second degree misdemeanor carries up to a maximum of 60 days in jail, $500.00 fine and six months of probation, or any combination of the two. A first degree misdemeanor carries up to one year in the county jail, $1,000.00 fine or 12 months of probation or a combination of any of the three.
Felonies are handled in the circuit court and they have much more harsh sanctions. For example, a third degree felony can carry up to five years in prison, five years probation and a $5,000.00 fine. Second degree felony can carry up to 15 years in prison, a $10,000.00 fine, or 15 years of probation. And a first degree felony can carry up to 30 years in prison and 30 years of probation.
There are also more enhanced crimes such as a felony that’s punishable by life, which carries a life sentence, and of course the capital which can actually take someone’s life.
So those are the main differences between a misdemeanor and a felony in the State of Florida.