Call Today for a Free Consultation 321-332-6864 Call Us 24 hours / 7 days a week


In the state of Florida, Florida Statute 316.193 defines the offense of driving under the influence. There are several different criteria used to determine if a driver is illegally impaired by alcohol or drugs when driving. Florida Statute 316.193(1)(b) indicates a defendant is guilty of driving under the influence if he or she has a blood-alcohol level of .08 or more grams of alcohol per 1000 milliliters of blood. Florida Statute 316.193(1)(c) indicates a person is guilty of DUI in Florida if he or she has a breath alcohol level of .08 or more grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath.

To determine if someone is impaired, police will measure a person’s blood alcohol level. Blood, breath, or urine tests may be used to conduct this measurement. When the person’s alcohol level is tested, this measurement is also referred to as his blood alcohol concentration, or BAC for short.

Blood alcohol concentration simply refers to the amount of alcohol which is found within an individual’s blood system. BAC is measured in terms of the weight of alcohol per unit of blood volume and is expressed as a percentage. For example, if a person has a BAC of .10 percent, this indicates that there is .10 grams of alcohol per deciliter of blood. The person would be considered to be driving under the influence with a .10 BAC.

Drivers in Florida must submit to BAC testing with probable cause, under implied consent rules. Refusal to take a breathalyzer after arrest can result in a license suspension. If you have undergone a BAC test and are being accused of driving under the influence, you should talk with a Florida DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible.

Find Out How Our Criminal Defense Lawyers Can Help You Katz & Phillips, P.A. works to try to keep your record clear and keep you out of jail, or to minimize the possible penalties of serious charges you face. To learn more, call today and speak with an experienced member of our legal team