Call Today for a Free Consultation 321-332-6864 Call Us 24 hours / 7 days a week

Blog

How Can I Defend Criminal Trespass Charges?

Modern_chain_gangCriminal trespass charges are serious and if convicted, come with harsh penalties. Trespassing in Florida may be in one of four categories including trespass on property, trespass in a structure, trespass in a conveyance, and trespass on school property. Trespassing can be committed in one of two ways. You may trespass by willfully entering or staying on property without having been invited or by returning to a property after having been told to stay away. For example, if you have been seen walking near an abandoned building and the owner sees you and tells you to get away, you have been warned.… Read More

What is the Difference Between Burglary, Robbery, and Theft?

young man in handcuffs
If you have been charged with burglary, robbery, or theft in Florida the charges are serious. Many people wonder what the differences are between these charges. Some seem to be more serious than others. It is helpful to understand the differences between these charges and seek legal help as soon as possible after you’ve been charged with a crime. The sooner your attorney gets involved, the better the chances will be of providing a thorough and successful defense. In general, theft charges are the least severe of the three. While theft is generally considered a misdemeanor, burglary and robbery… Read More

Will My Driver’s License Be Taken Away for DUI?

DUI arrest
DUI is a serious charge and one that comes with harsh penalties upon conviction. In Florida, if you are stopped for a traffic citation and the officer has reason to believe that you have been drinking he will administer field sobriety tests. These tests may include having you follow a light with your eyes, walking a straight line, standing on one leg, reciting the alphabet, or touching your finger to your nose with your eyes closed. These simple tests aren’t scientific, but are designed to help an officer determine if you are drunk. These tests are very subjective and can be quite incorrect. If you… Read More

Should I Submit to a Breathalyzer Test?

DUI gavel
DUI charges carry serious penalties in Florida, as in other states. Much public attention has been brought to drunk driving, tutu app pokemon go ios, making it one of the most common arrests in Florida. If you have been stopped for DUI do you know what to do? One very frequent belief is that you should refuse to take a breath test if stopped for DUI. Drivers in Florida agree to submit to breath, blood, or urine testing if requested to do so by a member of law enforcement. When you sign your driver’s license you are agreeing to the terms, including this requirement. The decision to refuse to take a breath … Read More

What Happens at an Arraignment?

Jail cell
If you have been arrested the first action that will occur is the arraignment. The arraignment is the first court appearance after an arrest. The arraignment is designed to take care of several things. First, the charges against you will be read. This may be waived by the attorney if preferred. You will be asked if you have an attorney of if you need a public defender. If you have already hired a lawyer he will be present and represent you at this court appearance. Once the charges have been read you will be asked to enter a plea. Usually, this plea is not-guilty; however, your lawyer will help you determine… Read More

Are Computer Crimes Federal Offenses?

illegal crime
Computer crimes may range in severity and are often categorized as federal offenses. If you have been arrested for computer crimes it is important to protect your rights. Whether you’ve been charged yet or are under investigation, you will need to get legal assistance from an experienced criminal attorney. Computer crimes are often considered federal offenses because the use of the Internet spans over state lines. The penalties for federal crimes are often harsh and may include fines and a jail sentence. If the crime involves children pornography, a conviction will also require you to register… Read More

How Can I Defend Possession of Marijuana Charges?

In Florida, is in other states, law enforcement takes drug possession seriously. There are specific laws that apply to marijuana possession. If you have been charged with possession you need to take action to defend yourself. If convicted, the penalties can be severe, even for a first offense. Of course, the penalties will vary depending on how much marijuana was found in your possession. If you are found to possess less than 20 grams of marijuana you will typically be charged with a misdemeanor. If you are found with more than 20 grams it is considered a third degree felony charge. Drug charges … Read More

Mistakes Were Made on My DUI Police Report – Will the Charges be Dropped?

police car lights
DUI is a serious charge that has severe consequences for conviction. Many times the police on the scene of a traffic stop for DUI will make some mistakes on the police report. In general, the mistakes may offer a way for an experienced DUI attorney to try to have your charges dropped. However, in most cases, these minor mistakes will not matter in the big scheme of things. There are various things that will determine how your case proceeds as well as the punishment if convicted. Some of these factors include:

  • BAC (blood alcohol content)
  • Whether there was an accident with injuries
  • Traffic infractions
Read More
What is The Best Way to Fight DUI Charges?

sobriety test
DUI, driving under the influence, is a serious charge and one that should not be taken lightly. In Florida, as in other states, the penalties for a DUI conviction are severe, even for those convicted of DUI for the first time. In many cases you’ll first be stopped for a traffic violation, at which time the police officer may determine that you have been drinking and may proceed with a DUI charge. If you are arrested for DUI it is important to seek help from an experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible.

Your attorney will need to review all aspects of your arrest in order to develop… Read More

What Happens with Underage DUI?

DUI license plate
Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious charge and one that must be dealt with quickly. If someone under the legal drinking age of 21 is charged with DUI the consequences are stricter than for those who are older. In Florida, the legal limit for those over the age of 21 is 0.08%. Top 5 Best Soundbar Under $300 The limit for those under the age of 21 is 0.02%. This limit, however, is somewhat misleading. Florida has a no tolerance law in place. What this means is that anyone under age 21 who is found with any amount of alcohol in their system can be charged with underage drinking.

What Happens with An

Read More

 

Find Out How Our Criminal Defense Lawyers Can Help You Katz & Phillips, P.A. works to try to keep your record clear and keep you out of jail, or to minimize the possible penalties of serious charges you face. To learn more, call today and speak with an experienced member of our legal team