If there’s a DUI conviction in your past, you will likely confront enhanced charges the next time you are charged with a DUI, even if the two occur in different states. Enhanced means the stakes are higher, and penalties are more severe. Under the terms of the Non-Resident Violator Compact or NRVC, 44 states have committed to sharing their DUI files, working together to prevent drunk driving accidents and fatalities and to keep DUI penalties consistent between jurisdictions. This means if you’re convicted of a DUI in one of these states, the charge will follow you to another. If you were arrested for driving under the influence while visiting a friend in Georgia, and if you then you return home to Florida, Florida will find out about it. Both Florida and Georgia are NRVC states. The points against your license acquired in Georgia will turn up on your record in Florida.
Most significantly, if you’re stopped again on suspicion of driving under the influence in Florida, the arresting officer will immediately know that it’s a multiple offense. In Florida, your third DUI in 10 years is a third degree felony, punishable by up to five years in jail and a fine of as much as $5,000. This is not something you can risk. If you’re charged with a DUI in Florida, call an experienced Orlando DUI attorney immediately. If you were ever convicted of driving under the influence in another state, don’t take time to wonder if that state is one of the 44 that are part of the NRVC. Call the attorneys at Katz & Phillips – we’ll know the answer to that question immediately. If you schedule a consultation with one of our attorneys, we’ll let you know where you stand. Even if you don’t have a prior DUI on your record, it’s important that you do everything you can to fight the charge here in Florida, because if you’re stopped again in another state, your conviction will almost certainly be a multiple offense in that state as well. Reach out to us today so we can work to prevent this sort of nightmare from happening to you.